From: Robert Aguirre, President
As we approach this special time of year, I wanted to take a moment to express my gratitude to each and every one of you. Thanksgiving is a time to reflect on the blessings in our lives, and I am truly grateful to be surrounded by such a dedicated and hardworking team of officials.
I want to thank you for your unwavering commitment and contributions to our collective success. Your hard work as officials on the basketball court and dedication you provide to the student athletes is greatly appreciated!
As we take this opportunity to pause and celebrate with our loved ones, I hope you all have the chance to rest, relax, and enjoy the company of family and friends.
I hope this Thanksgiving brings you joy, warmth, and cherished memories. Thank you for everything you do to make our team and our organization great. I am truly thankful to have each and every one of you on our SGV team. Wishing you a Happy Thanksgiving filled with love, laughter, and gratitude.
From: Todd Layfer and Ernesto Rodriguez, Instructional Co-Chairs
I want to revisit something we covered during our instructional meetings. OT rules have not changed! OT (over time) is still considered an extension of the 4th quarter which means team fouls and unused time outs carry over. The 5 fouls rule change has NO impact on OT and there is NO reset of team fouls in over time.
Hope this clears up any confusion.
From: Todd Layfer and Ernesto Rodriguez, Instructional Co-Chairs
2023-24 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 1: Team A has possession of the ball in its frontcourt when the ball is deflected out of bounds by Team B. The ball exits the court along the end line close to the right sideline. Team A is granted an inbounds at the location where the ball exited the court. While Team A is trying to inbounds the ball, Team A calls a time-out. After the time-out, the inbounds spot (a) returns to the same spot; (b) moves to the designated spot 3 feet outside of the lane along the end line. RULING: (a) Correct procedure; (b) Incorrect procedure. COMMENT: Since the ball was not on the court, the time-out did not create a “stoppage in play” that would move the inbounds spot to one of the four designated spots. Play will continue from the inbounds spot established by the deflection of the ball by Team B. (7-5-2, 7-5-3a)
SITUATION 2: Team A has possession of the ball in its frontcourt when the ball is deflected out of bounds by Team B. The ball exits the court along the end line close to the right sideline. Team A is granted an inbounds at the location where the ball exited the court. While Team A is inbounding the ball, B1 (a) commits a common foul – the team’s third foul of the quarter; (b) intentionally kicks the ball as it is passed to A2. The throw-in location for (a) and (b) moves to the designated spot closest to where the foul/violation occurred. RULING: (a) and (b) correct procedure. COMMENT: Team A will retain possession in its frontcourt after a foul/ violation. The new throw-in location for Team A will be at one of the four designated spots nearest to the foul/violation. (7-5-2, 7-5-3a, 7-5-4)
SITUATION 3: An official administers a throw-in to Team A, when the throw-in should have been given to Team B. A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 scores quickly before the officials realize their mistake. Before the ball is inbounded by Team B, the official stops play, communicates with the scorekeeper to remove the points scored, tells the timer to reset the clock to the time remaining when the throw-in was awarded to the wrong team and awards Team B a throw-in. RULING: Incorrect procedure. COMMENT: Once the ball is dead following the made basket by A2, no correction can be made. After the ball has been inbounded by the wrong team the correction has to be made before the ball becomes dead or before there is a change in possession. Play continues with Team B’s throw-in from the end line after the made basket by A2. (7-6-6)
SITUATION 4: An official administers a throw-in to Team A, when the throw-in should have been given to Team B. A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and (a) A2 attempts a try, and the official realizes their mistake and blows their whistles while the ball is in flight – the try is good; (b) A2 attempts a try and the official realizes their mistake and blows their whistle while the ball is in flight – the try is not good and Team A secures the rebound. RULING: In (a) and (b) the status of the ball has changed and is no longer in Team A’s control while it is in flight. The mistake cannot be corrected. COMMENT: While the ball has not become dead or changed possession, the status of the ball has changed. Once the ball has changed status away from team control no correction can be made. In (a) the points are added to the team score for Team A and Team B will have the end line on the in-bound. In (b), regardless of which team gets the rebound, the ball is awarded based on the alternate possession arrow since there was no team control when the whistle was blown. The throw-in would take place at the nearest spot in the backcourt or one of the four spots in the frontcourt nearest the ball. If no whistle had been blown, play would continue without stoppage. (7-6-6)
SITUATION 5: An official administers a throw-in to Team A, when the throw-in should have been given to Team B. A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and B2 knocks the ball loose. While the ball is loose, the official recognizes their mistake, whistles and awards the ball to Team B for a throw-in from the same spot. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: A loose ball does not change the status of the ball as it is still in Team A’s control. The mistake can be corrected until the status of the ball changes. The clock should be reset to the time remaining when the throw-in was made by Team A. (7-6-6)
SITUATION 6: A1 takes off from inbounds, jumps over the end line, catches an errant pass and throws it back inbounds to teammate A2 in Team A’s frontcourt. A1 lands out of bounds and runs back onto the court and catches the first pass from A2. RULING: Legal. COMMENT: A player stepping out of bounds to make a play on the ball and then returning to the court has not left the court under the player’s own volition. The player left the court to make a play on the ball and is eligible to receive the first pass once inbounds position is established. (9-3-3)
SITUATION 7: B1 is defending A1 in Team A’s frontcourt. B1 runs out of bounds across the end line to avoid a screen set by A2. Upon returning to the court, B1 (a) intercepts a pass from A3 to A1; (b) touches the ball as it is passed from A3 to A1 before A1 retains possession for Team A. In both (a) and (b), B1 is the first player to touch the ball after returning to the playing court. RULING: (a) Out-of-bounds violation; (b) no violation. COMMENT: B1 left the court under the player’s own volition and became the first player to touch the ball after returning to the playing court. In (a), a violation is called due to the advantage gained by B1’s actions that resulted in Team B gaining possession. In (b), Team A retained possession after the touch by B1 – play continues with Team A in possession. (9-3-3)